Celebrate Good Times

VYPE Awards sells out Warehouse Live; teams, coaches, players honored

The first-ever VYPE Awards was a resounding success with more than 600 people in attendance. Vype

The anticipation was buzzing as people waited in a line wrapped around the building on Sunday afternoon to get in for the inaugural VYPE Awards presented by Houston Methodist Orthopedics and Sports Medicine.

The first-ever VYPE Awards, which honored the best teams, coaches and athletes from the past year, was a resounding success with more than 600 people in attendance at Warehouse Live, making the event a complete sellout.

“After doing this for the past 10 years it was awesome to see the turnout for our first-ever awards show,” VYPE President Derek Dusek said. “We cannot begin to thank every person that made this night a success and we cannot wait to do this again next year and continue to honor high school teams, coaches and players across the City of Houston!

"Also a special thanks to Houston Methodist Orthopedics and Sports Medicine for being our presenting sponsor."

VYPE inducted its first VYPE Hall of Fame class with Michael Brockers (Houston Chavez), Chloe Collin (Cypress Woods) and Chiney Ogwumike (Cy-Fair) being enshrined.

Former Cy-Fair and Rice football standout Sam McGuffie was given the VYPE Lifetime Achievement Award. McGuffie most recently competed at the Winter Olympics in South Korea on the United States Bobsled team.

“What an amazing night. It was great to see the tremendous support for VYPE and reminded us why we do this,” VYPE Chief Content Officer Matt Malatesta said. “It was great to see athletes of the past and present. We are excited to see what the future holds.

VYPE was honored to have Mix 96.5 radio host Sarah Pepper serve as the event’s keynote speaker. Pepper’s message was touching and was about never giving up and not letting anyone tell you you can’t. Pepper closed her speech with a message about being a high-character individual.

Also speaking was Dr. Vijay Jotwani, who is a Primary Care Sports Medicine physician at Houston Methodist Hospital. Jotwani serves as the team physician for the Houston Dash, Rodeo Houston, Rice University Athletics and multiple high schools. Jotwani is also a team consultant for the Houston Astros and Houston Ballet.

KUBE 57 Sports Director Todd Freed served as the event’s emcee for the evening introducing all the award recipients.

VYPE Media would like to thank the Capture Sports Marketing team, Work America Capital, the staff at Warehouse Live and the entire VYPE staff for making this a resounding success.

VYPE Media would also like to thank our sponsors for the event; Houston Methodist Orthopedics and Sports Medicine and Sun and Ski.

Full List of 2018 VYPE Award Winners

Cross Country


Male: Gavin Hoffpauir, The Woodlands

Coach: Juris Green, The Woodlands

Team: The Woodlands High School

Female: Halena Rahmaan, Montgomery

Coach: Chance Edwards, Montgomery

Team: Montgomery


Male:_HabtamuMerkin-Geta, Bay Area Christian

Coach: Tom Earle, The Woodlands Christian Academy

Team: The Woodlands Christian Academy

Female: Ellie Catron, The Woodlands Christian Academy

Coach: Tom Earle, The Woodlands Christian Academy

Team: The Woodlands Christian Academy



Co-Player of the Year: Ally Batenhorst, Seven Lakes

Sophie Walls, The Woodlands

Coach: Amy Cataline, Seven Lakes

Team: Seven Lakes


Player of the Year: Isa Zelaya, Concordia Lutheran

Coach: Kori Parker, The Woodlands Christian Academy

Team: Episcopal



Offense: Kason Martin, Manvel

Defense: Chad Bailey, Ridge Point

MVP: Craig Williams, Crosby

Coach: Ed Pustejovsky, Cy-Fair

Team: Cy-Fair


Offense: Jaylen Waddle, Episcopal

Defense: Marquis Hubbard, Kinkaid

MVP: Grant Gunnell, St. Pius X

Coach: Jacob Speen, Cypress Christian

Team: Cypress Christian

Swimming & Diving


Male: Clayton Bobo, Stratford

Coach: Greg McLain, Kingwood

Team: Kingwood

Female: Lucie Nordmann, The Woodlands

Coach: Jeremy Wade, The Woodlands

Team: The Woodlands


Male: Eric Wang, St. John's

Coach: Ron Raper, St. John's

Team: St. John's

Female: Sydney Buchman, St. John's

Coach: Kaitlin Kelley, St. Agnes

Team: St. Agnes




Male: Daniel Manibog, Katy

Coach:Erik Spjut, College Park

Team: College Park

Female: Kaityln Banas, Cy Ranch

Coach: Chris Potter, Cy Ranch

Team: Cy Ranch


Co-Male: Layo Laniyan, St. John’s

Colin Lawler, Kinkaid

Coach: Alan Paul, St. John's

Team: St. John's




Co-Male: CJ Washington, Jamal Bieniemy, Tompkins

Coach: Bobby Sanders

Team: Tompkins

Female: Charli Collier, Barbers Hill

Coach: Dedreck Carr, Wheatley

Team: Cy Creek


Male: Miller Kopp, Houston Christian

Coach: Bill Honeck, Concordia Lutheran

Co-Team: Houston Christian and Concordia Lutheran

Female: Jasmine Smith, Kinkaid

Coach: Stacey Marshall, Kinkaid

Team: Kinkaid




Male: Daniel Duran, Alief Elsik

Coach: Vincenzo Cox, Alief Elsik

Team: Alief Elsik

Female: Ali Russell, Cinco Ranch

Coach: Lindley Amarantos, Houston Memorial

Team: Houston Memorial


Male: Kyle Dagley, Lutheran South

Coach: Nate Hagge, Lutheran South

Team: Lutheran South

Female: Izzy Nelson, Kinkaid

Coach: Kinkaid coaching staff (Head Coach Angie Shotzberger, Assistants Tarik Guendouzi and Sarah Gifford)

Team: Kinkaid




Male: Kevin Zhu, Pearland Dawson

Female: Melissa LaMette, Cy Ranch

Team: Memorial

Coach: Budd Booth


Male: Michael Barsky, Emery/Weiner

Coach: Dave Green, Emery/Weiner

Team: Emery/Weiner

Female: Elizaveta Antonova, Duchesne

Coach: Elizabeth Bohannon, Northland Christian

Team: Northland Christian




Male: Damin Strydom, Kingwood

Coach: Jeff Bellnap, Kingwood

Team: Kingwood

Female: Hailee Cooper, Montgomery

Coach: Jim Bob Jackson, Magnolia

Team: Magnolia


Male: Ben Wong, John Cooper School

Coach: Bobby Eggleston, Kinkaid

Team: Kinkaid

Female: Christine Wang

Coach: Joseph Soliman, St. John's

Team: St. John's

Track & Field


Male: Kesean Carter, The Woodlands

Coach: Juris Green, The Woodlands

Team: The Woodlands

Female: Kynnedy Flannel, Alvin

Coach: Ruqayya Gibson, Cy Springs

Team: Cy Springs


Male: Corbett Fong, Concordia Lutheran

Coach: Bobby Lindquist, Concordia Lutheran

Team: Concordia Lutheran

Female: Kennedy Gamble, Kinkaid

Coach: Jonathan Whitson, Rosehill Christian

Team: Rosehill Christian




Female: Kayla Garcia, Katy

Coach: Kalum Haack, Katy

Team: Katy


Female: Sarah Venker, Episcopal

Coach: Kim Randolph, Episcopal

Team: Episcopal




Male: Jordan Groshans, Magnolia

Coach: Kelly Mead, Kingwood

Team: Kingwood


Male: Owen Meaney, St. Thomas

Coach: Ryan Lousteau, St. Thomas

Team: St. Thomas



Team: Oak Ridge


Team: Willis Wildkats

Most Popular

SportsMap Emails
Are Awesome

Listen Live

ESPN Houston 97.5 FM

With MLB award season upon us, we thought it would be the perfect time to look back on Jose Altuve's spectacular season in 2017 that landed him the MVP award.

So much has happened since then, so let's refresh our memories by taking a stroll down memory lane and celebrating Altuve's awesome achievement.

Enjoy and go Astros!

If you like the videos, subscribe on YouTube to get our latest content!

SportsMap Emails
Are Awesome